DD Palmer to be Honored on Iowa Walk of Fame June 6

Palmer Chiropractic News

Daniel David (D.D.) Palmer, discoverer of chiropractic and founder of Palmer College of Chiropractic, will have his name added to the Iowa Walk of Fame in downtown Shenandoah, Iowa. The 12 new plaques to be dedicated in Shenandoah on June 6, 2009, include those for an astronaut, musicians, singers, writers, entrepreneurs, a cartoonist, an athlete, an actress, and of course, a healing art and college founder. D.D. Palmer’s great-granddaughter, Vickie Palmer, will represent the Palmer family and college at the ceremonies. Ms. Palmer served as chairman of the Palmer College of Chiropractic Board of Trustees from 1987 to 2008, and still serves on the Board as an officer.

Daniel David (D.D.) Palmer, discoverer of chiropractic and founder of Palmer College of Chiropractic(photo:

D.D. Palmer performed the first chiropractic adjustment on Harvey Lillard on Sept. 18, 1895, in Davenport, Iowa. He subsequently founded chiropractic’s first college, Palmer College of Chiropractic, in 1897. Shenandoah’s Iowa Walk of Fame currently honors more than 120 famous Iowans on downtown sidewalk plaques. The list of famous Iowans ranges from the man who invented the computer, to famous actors and entertainers like John Wayne and Andy Williams, to presidents and famous athletes such as Dan Gable and Kurt Warner. A book filled with biographies of those on the Iowa Walk of Fame can be obtained at the Shenandoah Chamber & Industry Association office or the Shenandoah Historical Museum.

In addition to D.D. Palmer, others on the new plaques will be: Dick Dale, Algona, singer and musician on “The Lawrence Welk Show”; Kenny Gardner, Lake View, lead vocalist for the Guy Lombardo Band; Russell Gerdin, North Liberty, founder of Heartland Express; V.T. Hamlin, Perry, created Ally Oop comic strip; Shawn Johnson, West Des Moines, gold medal winning gymnast at the 2008 Summer Olympics; Willie Leacox, Shenandoah, lead drummer for the band, America; John Pappajohn, Mason City, philanthropist/entrepreneur; Laura Ingalls Wilder, Burr Oak, author of “The Little House on the Prairie” series; Kay Steward, Shenandoah, television and film actress; and Peggy Whitson, Mount Ayr, NASA astronaut.

Contact: Lori Leipold, Media Relations; Palmer College of Chiropractic (www.palmer.edu)

planetc1.com-news @ 10:04 am | Article ID: 1243962272