COCSA Bridging The River To Success


San Antonio, TX — Report of the Annual Meeting of the Congress of Chiropractic State Associations – State chiropractic leaders gathered in San Antonio TX November 6-8, 2008 for the annual meeting of the Congress of Chiropractic State Associations. Set to the theme “Bridging the River for Success,” over 137 delegates from 44 state chiropractic associations participated in round table discussions and workshops aimed at improving their operations and overall effectiveness in serving their members and advancing the chiropractic profession. In addition to providing association management training for state elected leaders and staff, the meeting covered chiropractic’s hottest issues, the introduction of new COCSA programs and policies, and the election of COCSA leaders for 2009. Sponsors of the 2008 meeting were Texas Chiropractic Association, Parker College of Chiropractic, Texas Chiropractic College, NCMIC, Foot Levelers, AMI (Alternative Medicine Integration), Standard Process, Core Products, Blanchard Golf Injuries, Break Through Coaching, National Payment Providers, and OUM. Following is a brief summary of the primary activities and issues of the 2008 Congress.

Bridging The River To Success - COCSA 2008“Bridging The River To Success” – COCSA was formed in 1969 to provide an open, nonpartisan forum for the promotion and advancement of the chiropractic profession through service to member state associations. This year’s convention in San Antonio TX continued to fulfill the COCSA purposes by networking the state ED’s and DC’s in round table sessions. The convention also helped to serve as a forum or clearing house to help solve mutual state problems by having Steve Clarke from the IRS to speak about the changes to the IRS 990 form and the Federal Trade commission’s attorney Rob Canterman who lectured about anti trust laws and issues. In helping the state members to cooperate with other organizations Jim Zechman CEO of AMI spoke about how to communicate and deal with the insurance industry. Collin Rorrie spoke on the “7 measures of a successful association” and there were reports from the ACA, CCGPP, FCER, ICA and Summit Steering Committee.

New COCSA President Dr Jeff Fedorko stated “In the upcoming year, the health care landscape as we have known it will undoubtedly begin to change. If chiropractic is to have a say in the outcome, the state associations must be poised to respond rapidly and effectively with positive messages of action to our member doctors and their patients. Therefore, now more then ever, COCSA must commit to its core mission of supporting the state associations.”

This convention was also the welcoming of COCSA’s new Executive Director Amy Hardin. Amy has spent the last several years in the healthcare industry working with Cardiologists and Family Practice physicians. Her most recent position was with Medtronic as a Business Development Representative where she focused primarily on the education and prevention of Sudden Cardiac Death. Her Great Grandfather was one of the first chiropractic doctors in Duluth, Minnesota and two of her great uncles went on to become doctors of chiropractic as well. Amy is a patient of chiropractic herself, and sees the invaluable need for chiropractic services to be totally reimbursable and available to all. Amy is a native of Minnesota and currently resides in Wichita, KS with her husband Steve and their two children Edie and Sam.

COCSA’s New Leaders
Elected to lead the Congress in 2008 are:
President – Dr. Jeffrey Fedorko of Ohio
1st Vice President – Dr. Kate Rufolo of Pennsylvania
2nd Vice President – Dr. David Kassmeier of Nebraska
Treasurer – Ms. Kathy Chittom of Louisiana
Secretary – Dr. Ken Hughes of Michigan
Past President – Dr. Jerry DeGrado of Kansas
District 1 Director – Dr John La Monica of New York
District 2 Director – Dr Margaret Freihaut
District 3 Director – Dr Don Cross of Florida
District 4 Director – Dr. Harold Lease of Colorado
District 5 Director – Dr Gary Saito of Hawaii
At Large Director – Mr. Lamont Carter of Tennessee

Dr. Steve Simonetti of New York COCSA Past President and Dr John Galbreath of Illinois VP of AMI were voted Honorary Members of the Congress.

The next meeting of the Congress, “The 40th Anniversary of COCSA” will be held on November 12-15, 2009 in St. Pete Beach, FL at the TradeWinds Resort Hotel. For additional information about the Congress, visit

New COCSA address and phone number…
COCSA – 12531 E. Meadow Dr. – Wichita, KS 67206 – (316) 613-3386 @ 8:56 pm | Article ID: 1227329831